potpourri

Beautifully diversified.

Lux White Impress Whitening Body Wash

on March 10, 2016

Happy March! Since this is my birth month, I will be reviewing my personal care travel essentials. As a frequent traveler, I make it a point to have everything that I need in the bathroom wherever I go. Inter-region locations of my work, school and home require me to be very keen on the products that I use on my ME time.

At our home, I like using bar soaps, especially the Kojic acid infused ones. But whenever I travel, I make sure I have a small bottle of liquid body wash stashed inside my kikay kit.

I recently tried Lux White Impress Whitening Body Wash. The label claims it has Whitelight Technology for visibly fairer skin. Let’s dice it up a bit.

  1. Packaging

The product I bought comes in a 100 ml pearlized white snap-top bottle. Problem I encountered here is after a month of using the product, the snap top cap gets plugged with thickened bulk product, making it hard to squeeze.

 

LUX-White-Impress-Whitening-Body-Wash-80-ML-1

2. Fragrance

This particular product boasted about being bathed in perfume in its television advertisements. So when I used it for the first time, I was expecting a lot. But the fragrance was a light floral scent, okay for me, but did not meet my expectations. I was expecting a very very perfumed liquid. But come to think of it, this product may be much safe and has less allergens than one that is too fragrant.

3. Product

When poured out of the bottle into my sponge, the product is a creamy white viscous liquid. When applied to wet skin, the foam and lather are quite normal, nothing too special about it. When I rinse it with water, my skin does not feel soft or slippery, it’s just plain wet skin.

4. Price

I can’t remember the price but I think it around P50 – P60.

5. Ingredients

Water, Myristic Acid, Lauric Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Palmitic Acid, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Perfume, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Titanium Dioxide, Glycerin, BHT, Tetrasodium EDTA, Etidronic Acid, Microcrystalline Wax, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Stearic Acid, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Niacinamide, Methylisothiazolinone, Gelatin, Acacia Senegal Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Mica, Silica, Xanthan Gum, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Tin Oxide, CI 42090, CI 73360, CI 77491, CI 77891

Bold item (Myristic acid, Lauric acid, Potassium hydroxide, Palmitic acid, Stearic acid) indicates that this is a soap-based product, with a pH of about at 8, a basic product. Even with the addition of Sodium Laureth Sulfate and Cocamidopropyl Betaine, perceived softness of the skin was not evident when I used it.

Which makes me wonder why Sodium benzoate is used as preservative here. This is appropriate for acidic products, with pH below 5.00. Good thing other preservatives are present (Phenoxyethanol, Methylisothiazolinone).

Whitening actives here are Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C) and Niacinamide (Vitamin B3). Lots of fillers and “skin pearlizing” ingredients are incorporated here, including Microcrystalline wax, Mica, Tin Oxide and CI 42090, CI 73360, CI 77491, CI 77891. I’ve been this product for 2 months now, but no perceived whitening is evident in my skin.

6. Overall rating: 2/5

Per se, the product is a good body wash. It gets the job done, cleaning and perfuming my skin. But it did not meet my expectations, and its marketing claims.

Leave a Reply

