potpourri

Beautifully diversified.

Blushing Belle c/o Opulence

on September 22, 2016

How have you been my loves! I just finished trying one Glutathione capsule product given to me by my friend at Opulence Skin Philippines. Here’s me blabbering about this experience.

I have always been skeptic when it comes to trying products that I have to ingest, like food supplements, vitamins and even medicine. I’d rather lay down and let myself heal on its own than take in anything that is not a natural part of my inner ecosystem. While other are going crazy about slimming pills, glutathione injections and capsules, I just soak my skin in tons of lotions and creams that can help lighten up my complexion.

But one friend of mine convinced me to try one of their products. I tried this for 30 days, and here’s what I think about it.

1. Packaging

The product comes in a generic wide-mouthed, opaque white medicine bottle. The light blue and white combination of the label exudes a feeling same as looking at the clouds. I would’ve preferred a pink-and-white combination though.

 

opulence

2. Directions:

Since I’m new to this, my friend advised me to take one capsule before sleeping for 2 weeks. On the 3rd week, I was instructed to take one capsule after breakfast and another one before sleeping.

3. Contents of the capsule

Glutathione – in the reduced state, this is a known water-soluble antioxidant and free-radical scanvenger. Please bear in mind that Glutathione’s main function is detoxification of the cells, which has skin lightening side effects.

Vitamin C – increases R-glutathione in red blood cells and improves overall antioxidant protection capacity of blood.

N-acetylcysteine – boosts Glutathione antioxidant activity, promoted detoxification and acts directly as free-radical scavenger.

Vitamin E – helps in the reduction of lipid peroxidation. Again, an antioxidant.

Alpha Lipoic Acid – scavenges free radicals, chelates metals, and restores intracellular glutathione levels which otherwise decline with age

Selenomethionine – increases glutathione peroxidase activity

4. Review

Due to the quasi-medicinal nature of the ingredients listed above, I have linked each of them to scientific journals you can refer to in case you want to learn about how these ingredients interact with each other.

Basically, Glutathione is the central ingredient here, with all the other components aimed at increasing the reduced Glutathione concentration in the blood, or increasing the glutatthione peroxidase activity. It is very important that Glutathione is in the reduced state – meaning it needs to be oxidized. For the benefit of everybody, let me explain this process to you.

In any environment, a pair of reactions occur simultaneously all the time: Oxidation and Reduction. One cannot occur without the other. Imagine you are carrying a very heavy bag containing 10 basketballs. Your normal capacity for carrying basketballs is only 9. Another friend, who is walking with you carries a bag with only 8 basketballs. His full capacity is up to 10. Because you are having difficulty carrying all 10 basketballs, you decided to give him one. So you now carry 9 basketballs, while your friend now has 9. You, with 10 basketballs, is in the oxidized state. While your friend, with only 8 basketballs is in the reduced state. One you transfer one basketball, you become reduced, while your friend becomes oxidized. It’s not this simple, but you know what I mean 🙂

This is the  case with our cells. Free radicals in our cells target to oxidize other cells. to prevent this, antioxidants like Glutathione and Vitamin E interact with the free radicals, ultimately reducing the cells, while having themselves oxidized.

On the first night that I took one capsule, I had to sleep late due to the tons of errands I had to do. Surprisingly, I woke up the next day, with just 5 hours of sleep, feeling like I slept a whole 10 hours. This feeling of freshness lasted up until today. I always wake up like I did nothing the past day.

After 14 days of taking this capsule, I contracted flu. Normally, when I have the flu, you’d find me struggling to stay alive lying on my bed. But this time it’s different. I feel sick, little muscle pains and slight fever. But I can still go to work, exercise and do stuff. I’m wondering if the capsule I’m taking is helping in fighting the  flu.I got well after just three days of feeling sick.

After 30 days, here’s how it worked for me

2016-09-20-21-44-09

I’m not sure if it’s visible here, but my cheeks and lips are more pinkish. My skin overall is less oily, with increased visible smoothness. I would definitely purchase another bottle of this.

AGAIN! I’m reiterating that Glutathione and all other ingredients included in this capsule are intended for antioxidant and detoxification of the cells, with side effects of skin lightening. Always consult a medical professional before taking any supplements, especially if you are under-aged, pregnant, or have existing medical conditions.

Visit Opulence’s sites by clicking the links below:

http://www.theopulenceskin.com/

http://www.lazada.com.ph/shop-face/opulence/

https://www.facebook.com/theopulenceskin/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

